IS IT OK TO CLOWN AROUND, WHEN YOU GO BOWLING? John Barney

“IS IT OK TO CLOWN AROUND WHILE GOING BOWLING?”

By John Barney

FALL COLOPHON 2015

Those that know me know that I like to make people laugh.  If I can tell a joke and make someone laugh or smile, then I have had a good day.  Laughter is one of God’s greatest gifts … and I use it to my advantage everyday.  So what does this question “Is it OK to clown around while going Bowling?”  I don’t bowl because of my back.  Heck, I can even clown around because of my back … and the “Arthur” in my shoulders and knees.  This hilljack from southern Ohio has lost his mind.  Well maybe … and some would say that is correct … but let me explain. It is no secret that I love to collect National Biscuit Company advertising and other collectibles.  But my passion within that realm is Zu Zu Ginger Snap items.  I have a rather large collection of Zu Zu memorabilia from dolls, trolley cards, crates, carton slips, and so much more.  But I am always looking for the SUPER RARE!  And I was given a lead on one. Many years ago, I visited Charlie and Prissy’s house for the first time.  What a sight to see!  I’m sure many of you have had the same thoughts.  But I remember asking them about a clown in their possession.  It stands about 3 ½ feet tall and its eyes glow when it plugged in.  They told me they bought it so many years ago in my own backyard at the Heart of Ohio Mall in Springfield, OH.  I knew that one day I would get one of these by hook or by crook.  So the search started!

 

 

“IS IT OK TO CLOWN AROUND WHILE GOING BOWLING?”

Charlie told me of a gentleman “down south” that had one.  He was not sure of the condition but he knew he had one.  So over the next few years I called him and let him know that I was interested.  His name is Sim Wilford.  He had worked for the company for many years in sales and product development and promotion.  So we negotiated on a price.  So over a few years we finally came to an agreement.  He first suggested to ship it but I am not too keen on shipping things that are fragile.  So after talking … he had an idea.

Sim and his wife live in Alabama.  I live in Ohio.  After the Sugar Bowl victory of Ohio State over Alabama (and eventual National Championship over Oregon), I hoped that he would still speak to me.  So we set up a day in April for me to meet about halfway.  That town is Bowling Green KY.  It was about a 4 hour trip from my house, which is not bad … plus I would be able to stop by and see Charlie, Prissy, and Dale.  So I made the start of my journey early in the morning so I could hit the antique malls on my way down and back. If you do not know, Bowling Green, KY is the home of the Corvette Museum.  Sim loves going to the museum so what a better way to make some money than to sell his clown to me and get to visit these lovely cars in one trip.

So there you have it!  A road trip to garner a very rare piece of NBC history.  And yes it is ok to “clown around when you go Bowling (Green).”

The Chase continues …  John Barney jbarney@ameritech.net

Leave a comment